Global Digital Citizenship: Elementary Physics Project Part II

Global Digital Citizenship still feels like an abstract hodgepodge of all the other fluencies wrapped in one to me. The 21st century learning site even states:

All the 21st Century fluencies are learned within the context of the Digital Citizen, using the guiding principles of leadership, ethics, accountability, fiscal responsibility, environmental awareness, global citizenship and personal responsibility.

As my students saw, teaching is almost the embodiment of this fluency. My novice-teachers solved problems, interpreted and manipulated information, thoughtfully used media, and worked collaboratively/creatively while planning and executing their lessons. Several of the guiding principles including leadership, ethics, global citizenship and personal responsibility were also key to our success. I especially like the fact that my students bought into the project as something “real.” I think it is very hard to encourage characteristics like personal responsibility or leadership in venues that seem artificial to students.

I was glad that this fluency was our last – I feel like it was great closure for our journey through 21st century fluencies this year!

About integratedintention

I teach Honors Physics and AP Physics at Heritage Hall!

Posted on 14 May 2012, in Collaboration Fluency, Digital Citizenship, Information Fluency, Media Fluency, Solution Fluency and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We learn by teaching. The physics of learning might be the dynamics of teaching. What a great way to inform, encourage, and strengthen the knowledge of your students as well as those younger. Thanks for the trip through the 21st century fluency skills.

Leave a comment