Tech tools

I have used several tech tools in the past couple of years and one that I keep going back to is hippocampus.org. It has short video clips available for all subjects and is geared to regular ed and ap students. I find this website most helpful in introducing new topics or units to my students. The video clips for history provide primary source documents as well as a written version of the audio for students to go back and review without having to re-listen to the entire clip. When I use this website I usually have the students watch three to four video clips within a class period in the MAC lab along with answering questions for each topic. This website could also be used for review before exams or especially final exams and the students could watch the clips at home with access to the internet. 

I have not yet taken advantage of this tool yet, but each educator who registers can create their own hippocampus webpage for their class. This would allow the teacher to post only those clips needed by the teacher instead of the students having to search for them.

A draw back to this website would be that there is no “real action” for the history video clips but rather just a collection of pictures (while still valuable as primary sources). This could cause a decline in student interest without real life action.

http://www.hippocampus.org/

Posted on 13 December 2011, in General Info, Social Media, Videos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a great sharing across curriculum. This link may appear on the MS/US Library page soon to allow for greater access. Thank you.

  2. I took a little time to explore hippocampus.org today. I was pleased to see that the Khan Academy is one of their resources. I’m familiar with KA and like that it is there along with other great resources–all at one site. It saves moving around so much across disciplines. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment