Summer Reading: Reinventing Project-Based Learning Part III

My final thought about Reinventing Project-Based Learning is that the book spent a little too much attention on exceptional projects. I actually would have preferred to read about average PBL instead of exceptional. Many of the projects referenced in the book were incredibly specific to the community. While I can see the value of eventually building a project like that, at first it seems more practical to do something a little more general. A few exceptional projects would have been great, but I also wanted examples of projects that failed – so I could learn from them.

There needs to be a book with specific instructions in designing projects, specific problems & specific solutions. I’m a firm believer in creativity and doing things differently. However, I also think you need to learn the rules before you break them.

Anyway, the book was decent overall….I’m just a big critic!

About integratedintention

I teach Honors Physics and AP Physics at Heritage Hall!

Posted on 31 May 2012, in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you for the great review. I too feel beginners need a more step-by-step guide to get the whole concept moving. This is a big change and we need to begin by getting our feet wet before we jump in and drown. Thanks for all your posting.

Leave a Reply

